skip to main content

OSB Debtor-Creditor Section Names Danny Newman Chair of Committee on Receivership Rules, Announces Public Meetings

April 17, 2024

View Full Article


Tonkon Torp partner Danny Newman is Chair of the new Uniform Trial Court Rules (UTCR) for Receivership Special Committee of the Oregon State Bar’s Debtor-Creditor Section.

Oregon’s new receivership code, which went effect in 2018, has come into significant use post-pandemic. State bankruptcy practitioners using the code have been increasingly confronted with administrative and procedural problems and confusion as they try to run receivership cases through Oregon State courts.

As a result of these challenges with the code, the Oregon State Bar Debtor-Creditor Section has formed a special committee on the UTCR for Receivership. Committee members include Danny Newman as Chair, Tonkon Torp bankruptcy colleague Ava Schoen, and the following attorneys: Andrew Geppert (Lane Powell PC) as Vice Chair, Barry Caplan (Sussman Shank LLP), Laurie Hager (Snell & Wilmer LLP), Tony Kullen (Farleigh Wada Witt), Garrett Ledgerwood (Miller Nash LLP), Justin Leonard (Oregon Department of Justice), Tara Schleicher (Foster Garvey PC), and Tim Solomon (Tabor Law Group).

The goal of the committee is to develop solutions and make suggestions for procedural rule changes to the UTCR to make receiverships more predictable, uniform, and efficient. The committee is hosting public meetings to discuss its charge the last Thursday of every month at 8:30 PM at the Tonkon Torp offices at 888 SW 5th Ave., Suite 1600, Portland, Oregon. The next meeting will be on April 25.

About Tonkon Torp
Tonkon Torp LLP is a leading business and litigation law firm serving public companies, substantial private enterprises, entrepreneurial businesses, and individuals throughout the Northwest. Tonkon Torp is celebrating its 50th year in business! See our History Timeline for more information, or visit